top of page

You've Gort to look at this!

Updated: Feb 3, 2022

Club Clare are so delighted to have been part of the hugely successful Clare Under 15 Post-Primary Schools Hurling Championships. The commitment of each panel, management and PR teams allied to an extremely professional organising committee lit up our winter evenings and undoubtedly provided significant preparation and development ahead of the provincial Under 15 competitions in the new Year.

Awareness and promotion of the inaugural championships was equally as important, with the Transition Year students of their respective schools relishing the responsibility of providing PR before, during and after matches.

The standard was extremely high across the board, with the pre and post match interviews, score updates, action photos, videos and match reports setting a very high bar than even the vast majority of clubs and counties would find difficult to emulate.

We hope that the participating students enjoyed the experience as much as we did and hopefully whetted the appetite for further endeavours in whatever paths they choose.

As difficult as it was to single out one particular PR team, it must be said that in terms of innovation and dedication, Kayla Morrissey, Meath Curran, Siobhan Mullins and Sharon Dolphin of Gort Community School consistently presented a truly comprehensive match-day experience and therefore are fully deserving of the prize for Best Content which will be presented to the students at an appropriate time in the New Year.

Congratulations to Sharon, Kayla, Meabh, Siobhan and coordinator Eoghan Hanley and a sincere thanks also to the TY Students of St Flannan’s College, with Frank Roughan, Michael Roach, Ella Deasy and Holly O’Boyle coordinating the social media of Clare Post-Primary Schools Hurling across various networks.

Our gratitude as ever to the local media for helping promote this competition and matches, with special thanks to Clare FM for providing a weekly slot for the TY students to air their own round-ups of the week’s matches.

Finally, we save special mention to the drivers of this brilliant competition, the Clare Under 15 Post-Primary Schools Governance Group of Micheál Duffy, Peter Casey, Rob Mulcahy, Terence Fahy, Jim Fitzgerald, Kieran McDermott, John Culligan, John Fawl and Donal Moloney.

This is only the first developmental step in revitalising the schools link, both primary and post-primary and Club Clare are excited to support any such initiatives that benefit our future stars.

Tony Killeen,

Club Clare Secretary

Check out some of Gort Community School PR Team's work over the past number of weeks:

657 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page